Daniel Negreanu Among 10 Finalists for 2014 Poker Hall of Fame

Daniel Negreanu

The list of 10 nominees for the 2014 Poker Hall of Fame was announced by the World Series of Poker on Tuesday. The finalists, which were nominated by the public for the sixth straight year, include five returning candidates and five first-timers, with our Canadian superstar Daniel Negreanu leading the group of newcomers in his first year of eligibility.

Frenchman Bruno Fitoussi is also a first-time nominee, as are 1975 WSOP Main Event runner-up Bob Hooks, six-time WSOP gold bracelet winner Ted Forrest, and respected tournament director Jack McClelland.

The five returning nominees are Jennifer Harman, Humberto Brenes, Mike Matusow, Chris Bjorin, and Huck Seed.

It is now up to the 21 living Hall of Fame members and the 20-member media panel to cast their votes before the October 10 deadline. Each candidate is voted on the following criteria:

  • Be a minimum of 40 years old at time of nomination
  • A player must have played poker against acknowledged top competition
  • Played for high stakes
  • Played consistently well, gaining the respect of peers
  • Stood the test of time
  • Or, for non-players, contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results.

Up to two of the aforementioned nominees will join an elite list of Hall of Famers like Johnny Moss, Doyle Brunson, Benny Binion, David “Chip” Reese, Thomas Austin “Amarillo Slim” Preston, Stu Ungar, and Phil Hellmuth. Last year, Scotty Nguyen and Tom McEvoy were added to the prestigious club.

The 2014 Poker Hall of Fame class will be inducted as part of the WSOP Main Event final table festivities at the Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas during a special ceremony on Sunday, November 9.

Get all the latest PokerNews Canada updates on your social media outlets. Follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook!

What do you think?

More Stories

Other Stories