Paul MacEachern is Atlantic Canada's Poker Champion

Paul MacEachern wins Atlantic Canada's Poker Championship

The Atlantic Canada's Poker Championship is an annual event pitting the best players in Atlantic Canada against each other. The 2014 version ran this past weekend at Red Shores Racetrack and Casino in Charlottetown, PEI, attracting 277 runners to the $550 event.

The two-day tournament combined three starting flights into a single final day, running a qualification flight on the night of October 17, with two more the following day. The final round was played on Sunday, October 19, where 60 people came back to vie for the title and their share of the $138,500 prize pool.

Tim Banks jumped out to an early chip lead, finishing on top of the list after the end of the first round of qualifying. Banks retained his lead through round two, as round two leader Clayton Hughes could only amass enough chips for second overall by the end of the round. The same held true for the final round, as leader Jean-Louis Arsenault was only able to gather enough chips for eighth place overall going into Sunday’s final round.

In the final round, the leaders from the qualifying rounds didn’t fair so well. Round 1 leader Tim Banks was unable to cash, while Round 2 leader Clayton Hughes could only manage a mincash at 27th place. The leader from Round 3, Jean-Louis Arsenault from New Brunswick, faired a bit better, managing third on the final day, pocketing $12,465 for his efforts. The second-place prize of $20,775 went to Nova Scotia’s Jerry MacLeod.

Nova Scotia also took top spot, as the runner up from Round 3, Paul MacEachern, came out on top at the end of the day. MacEachern took home just shy of $37,000 for his win, along with the title of Atlantic Canada's Poker Champion. See below for the full event results.

FinishPlayerPrize FinishPlayerPrize
1Paul MacEachern$36,940 16Nick Henneberry$1,939
2Jerry MacLeod$20,775 17Alex Allison$1,620
3Jean Louis Aresenault$12,465 18Mike Pollard$1,620
4Liam Forester$9,238 19Lawrence LeBlanc$1,620
5Matt Wilkins$6,925 20Gerwyn Jones$1,330
6Geoff Hum$5,720 21Varun Sachdeva$1,330
7Norm Overdijk$4,709 22Darin Affleck$1,330
8Ray Carter$4,155 23Nick Maheu$1,108
9John Campbell$3,421 24Janet Cowper$1,108
10Jamie McAdam$2,950 25Ramez Moussa$1,108
11Trevor Delaney$2,770 26Daniel MacKinnon$1,108
12Richard Wright$2,770 27Brandon Hatchard$970
13Nazaire Richard$2,311 28Clayton Hughes$970
14Bill Banfield$2,311 29Sean Hughes$970
15Ross Gauthier$1,939 30Cindi Ladner$970

* Results and winner photo courtesy of

Get all the latest PokerNews Canada updates on your social media outlets. Follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook!

What do you think?

More Stories

Other Stories