George Hussein Wins Alberta Poker Championships Main Event

Casino Edmonton Alberta Poker Championships

Pure Canadian Gaming's Casino Edmonton, in Alberta's capital, played host to the Alberta Poker Championships this past week. In addition to the $1,100 Main Event, the series also featured a pot-limit Omaha tournament, a satellite to the World Series of Poker (WSOP) Main Event, a bounty, and a doubles event. More than 500 people registered across the series, showing the depth of Alberta poker talent.

The Championship series kicked off with a $770 WSOP satellite. Forty-seven people came out to play their way to the Rio, but in the end it was Shawn Taghavizadeh and Greg Pelletier who won the ticket. Sheraz Nasir took home the third-place prize of $4,654.

Event #2 was a $550 Bounty tournament that ran Sunday, January 18. Ninety-seven people sat down to play for the $36,375 in prizes plus $9,700 in bounties. Sheila Schmidt was the last person with chips, besting Brian Anderson heads-up to win the $10,810 prize. Anderson took home $6,550 for second, while Justin Bondt finished third for $5,095.

The next day, players hit the felt for Event #3, a $330 hold'em tournament. Devin Verstraelen won the top prize of $10,840. Cliff Harris took second for $5,970 while Tyler Warken finished third for $4,410. Pot-limit Omaha was the game for Event #4, and 116 people came out for $300 tournament. Darcy van Wachem was the eventual winner, collecting $8,630. John Wilson took second for $4,840 and Michael Semchuk finished third for $3,640.

Event #5 was a unique doubles event, where teams of two players alternate playing the same stack in alternating blind levels. With 94 registrants, the team of T Phong and Alex R won the top prize of $6,340, ahead of N Tho and H Emmanouil in second for $4,200. Third place went to the team of T Shahram and Bijan E who collected $3,130.

The Main Event was a three-day affair, featuring two Day 1s feeding into a final Day 2. Between the two starting days, 272 players paid the $1,100 entry fee to compete for the title. Nineteen people made it through Day 1a, meeting up with the 29 who survived Day 1b on Sunday’s final day.

After a long day of poker action, it was George Hussein holding the trophy. Hussein took the title and the $64,600 top prize ahead of second-place finisher Robin Bergren, who took home $39,400. Ryan Comely finished in third place for $31,000.

Get all the latest PokerNews Canada updates on your social media outlets. Follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook!

What do you think?

More Stories

Other Stories