2015 WPT World Championship Day 4: Tony Dunst Makes Repeat Final Table

Tony Dunst WPT World Championship

Season XIII of the World Poker Tour (WPT) has reached the culmination point with the WPT World Championship at Borgata in New Jersey. Each of the WPT Champions throughout the season were awarded a seat in this prestigious tournament, and many more of the best players in the game put up the $15,400 buy-in to compete for one of the biggest titles in poker.

Day 4 on Tuesday was the day the WPT final table was set with just six players remaining. The 27 players that began the day were all well into the money, but only the best six would survive to see the felt again on Wednesday for the day a new WPT World Champion will be crowned.

With the last Canadian eliminated on Day 3, the real headline was that last year's WPT World Champion Keven Stammen was still in the hunt for back-to-back wins. With the unofficial final table of nine players assembled, Stammen was still threatening a title defense, but that dream came to an end when he was eliminated in ninth.

Stammen three-bet shoved with {a-Hearts}{q-Diamonds} over Ray Qartomy's {6-Spades}{6-Hearts} and the two were off to the races with Stammen at risk. The board ran out {10-Clubs}{9-Diamonds}{7-Clubs}{5-Diamonds}{5-Clubs} and Qartomy's sixes held to finish off Stammen who collected $69,549 for his impressive repeat result in this prestigious event.

Qartomy carried those chips through the next two eliminations to secure his spot on the official final table. He will be joined by WPT's own Tony Dunst who also final-tabled this WPT World Championship last year, finishing third for over $450,000. Carlos Mortensen will be back on the final day looking for his fourth — yes, fourth — WPT title, though he'll have to overcome his disadvantage as the short stack. Alexander Lakhov will return with the chiplead, and Asher Conniff and Brian Yoon round out the final six.

Here's how the chips stack up on the final table:

Alexander Lakhov4,110,000
Asher Conniff2,360,000
Brian Yoon1,970,000
Ray Qartomy1,390,000
Tony Dunst1,255,000
Carlos Mortensen880,000

There is nearly $1 million promised for the eventual winner, and it will all be decided on Wednesday on the televised final table. Check back with PokerNews Canada for a recap of the action and to see who has become the 2015 WPT World Champion.

Details and photo courtesy of the WPT Live Blog.

Get all the latest PokerNews Canada updates on your social media outlets. Follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook!

What do you think?

More Stories

Other Stories