Spring has Sprung as 2015 Playground Poker Spring Classic Wraps Up

Playground Poker Spring Classic

The Playground Poker Club, located in Kahnawake, Quebec, wrapped up their Spring Classic this week. The event ran from April 19 to May 6 featuring 16 events, culminating with the World Poker Tour (WPT) Canadian Spring Championship $3,500 buy-in Main Event. Here are some of the highlights from the series:

Event #1: The Wild $150

Playground Poker Spring Classic Event #1 kicked off with the popular Wild $150 tournament which features four starting flights over a three-day span with a $100,000 guaranteed prize pool. 1,188 entries participated in the event which created a $155,000 prize pool.

In total, 117 players made the money and Rick Shamshoum defeated Philippe Lauzon heads-up to win the first Spring Classic bracelet and $28,780.

Here are the final-table payouts:

1Rick Shamshoum$28,780
2Philippe Lauzon$19,479
3Isham Yamani$13,530
4Said Michailidis$10,960
5Stephane Chartrand$8,010
6Pierre-Olivier Sauve$6,140
7Benoit Campeau$4,270
8Christien Beaudoin$3,110
9Stephane Sevigny$2,310

Event #3: The $250 Frenzy

Event #3 was the $250 buy-in Frenzy reentry tournament. This event promoted a $200,000 guarantee with six starting flights over a three-day period. 1,076 total entries played in the event, which created a whopping prize pool of $234,837. 108 players were guaranteed at least a minimum cash of $490 while the champion would receive $44,030.

When play got to heads-up, Ko Maddock and Gerald Macleod made a deal which saw an even chop of the remaining prize pool, minus $5,000 and a bracelet for the two to play for. Macleod was able to outlast Maddock to win the third bracelet of the Spring Classic and $39,134.

Here are the payouts for the final table:

1Gerald Macleod$39,134
2Ko Maddock$34,133
3Senthuran Vijayaratnam$20,540
4Jimmy Setna$16,670
5Randy Khalil$12,210
6Glen Hammers$9,440
7Frederic Mercier$6,690
8Richard Figiel$4,740
9Nick Petsas$3,590

Event #7: WPT Warm-up

Event #7 of the Playground Poker Spring Classic was the $1,100 buy-in WPT Warm-up. 190 players took to the felt, including the likes of Canadians Griffin Benger and 2010 World Series of Poker Main Event Champion Jonathan Duhamel in the event with a $184,300 prize pool. Both players went on to cash (Benger 14th — $2,670 and Duhamel 12th — $3,240), but it was Philippe Belley who would defeat Andrew Graham heads-up and walk away with $44,500.

Below are the payouts for the final nine participants:

1Philippe Belley$44,500
2Andrew Graham$31,300
3Alexander James Allison$20,050
4Joshua Keith Tucker$14,850
5Michael Wang$11,150
6Kane Kalas$8,920
7Alex Fortin Demers$7,400
8Joe Gualtieri$5,930
9Peter Papadakos$4,440

Event #13: Second Chance

Event #13 was the $1,650 Second Chance event which saw 85 players enter the two-day event. The $123,675 prize pool would be divided up over the final table of nine players. Jason Conforti outlasted Ratharam Sivagnanam heads-up to take home the bracelet and $37,105. Ko Maddock also picked up another final table to add to his Event #3 runner-up finish.

Here are all of the payouts for the event:

1Jason Conforti$37,105
2Ratharam Sivagnanam$25,970
3Andrew Hinrichsen$16,695
4Steven Buckner$12,370
5Logan Dunn$9,275
6Danny Boyaci$7,420
7Ko Maddock$6,185
8James Gall$4,945
9Behram Antia$3,710

Event #10: WPT Canadian Spring Championship

The 2015 partypoker.net WPT Canadian Spring Championship took place from May 1 to 6 at Playground Poker Club in Kahnawake, Quebec. The event drew 370 participants for the $3,500 buy-in over two starting flights with a reentry format.

The event attracted some big names in poker including Ari Engel, Eddie Sabat, Marc-Etienne McLaughlin, Dylan Wilkerson, Marvin Rettenmaier, Jeff Gross, Griffin Benger, Mike Leah, and Eric Afriat. The latter two ended their respective days as chip leaders. Mike Leah finished Day 1a with 265,300 in chips and Afrait finished Day 1b with 212,200.

Of the big names listed, Griffin Benger (30th — $7,340), Ari Engel (17th — $12,090), Eric Afriat (14th — $14,130), Jeff Gross (13th — 14,130), and Dylan Wilkerson cashed. Wilkerson finished in sixth place on the first hand of the WPT final table broadcast, taking home $47,470.

Trevor Delaney (fifth — $59,340), Gary Lucci (fourth — $79,130), and Levi Stevens (third — $106,820) would follow Wilkerson to the exit soon after, leaving Lu Zhang and Sheraz Nasir to battle heads-up for the $237,390 first-place prize and entry into the WPT World Championship. Zhang had visions of making history in her mind, as she was only one player away from being the first female to win an open WPT main tour event.

After 114 hands of heads-up play and multiple swaps of the chip lead, Alberta's Sheraz Nasir became the WPT Canadian Spring Championship winner, taking home $237,390. Lu Zhang earned $166,402 for her second-place finish, falling just short of making history for women in poker.

Here are the top nine finishers for the partypoker WPT Canadian Spring Championship:

Spring has Sprung as 2015 Playground Poker Spring Classic Wraps Up 101
Sheraz Nasir is the first WPT Champion of Season XIV.
1Sheraz Nasir$237,390
2Lu Zhang$166,402
3Levi Stevens$106,802
4Gary Lucci$79,130
5Trevor Delaney$59,340
6Dylan Wilkerson$47,470
7Pascal Lefrancois$39,560
8Senthuran Vijayaratnam$31,650
9Robert Taylor$23,730

Congratulations to Sheraz Nasir from Edmonton, Alberta for being crowned the first champion of WPT Season XIV.

That’s a wrap on another successful series at Playground Poker Club. For full results of all 16 events at the Spring Classic, visit the Playground Poker Club website.

Details and photo courtesy of the Playground Poker blog.

Get all the latest PokerNews Canada updates on your social media outlets. Follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook!

What do you think?

More Stories

Other Stories