Grey Eagle Casino Plays Host to 2015 Summer Classic

Grey Eagle Resort & Casino Summer Classic

Grey Eagle Resort & Casino rolled out the red carpet for the final series in the 2015 Summer Classic Poker Series. The Summer Classic spanned three events throughout the summer, with each event composed of three tournaments. Players also collected points throughout the summer for the Player of the Series prize: a foursome at The Hamptons Golf Club.

The first series ran from June 18 to 21 with another series of tournaments at the end of July. The final event of summer long series ran in the last week of August, and generated a prize pool of over $80,000 for the three tournaments.

The first event in the final series was pot-limit Omaha. The $330 buy-in saw 56 people try their hand at four-card poker. The prize pool of over $15,000 was split between the top six players with Moe Asaf taking home the top prize of $5,425. The full payouts are below.

1Moe Asaf$5,425
2Jody Fayant$3,670
3Jeff Babante$2,395
4Tyler Scott$1,915
5Dennis Tostwaryk$1,435
6Matt Knoll$1,120

The $550 Main Event was the second tournament of the series with two Day 1 starting flights leading into Day 2 on August 30th. Drawing 136 entries, the prize pool topped out at $64,600 with the top 15 players sharing in the prizes. Chestermere, Alberta's Moon Deo took home the top prize of $17,315. The final 15 are listed below.

1Moon Deo$17,315
2Istvan Benyi$12,125
3Barry Middlebrook$7,795
4Koji Horiguchi$5,775
5Brian Mennis$4,325
6Steve Steves$3,465
7Benson Luc$2,880
8Jody Fayant$2,305
9Mark Kiely$1,730
10Moe Asaf$1,260
11Willie Hernandez$1,260
12Amarith Keo$1,260
13Joshua Steeper$1,035
14Krystin Hady$1,035
15Jeremy Issel$1,035

The final event of the Summer Classic featured a $220 no-limit hold'em turbo bounty tournament that saw 57 entries. The top six players split the prize pool of just under $8,000. Greg Stein ended up taking home the top prize, collecting $2,715. The full results are below.

1Greg Stein$2,715
2Shane Baki$1,835
3Jerry Jackson$1,195
4Merv Tumak$958
5Jose Carmelotes$718
6Peggy Malinowski$559

Moon Deo took home the Player of the Series prize — a Hamptons Golf Package — earning 165 points for his win in the Main Event. Deo finished just ahead of Moe Asaf, winner of the first event, and Jody Fayant, who placed second in that event.

Get all the latest PokerNews Canada updates on your social media outlets. Follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook!

What do you think?

More Stories

Other Stories

Recommended for you

Playground Poker Club's Montreal Poker Expo Awards $1 Million in Prizes Playground Poker Club's Montreal Poker Expo Awards $1 Million in Prizes