2015 WPT Legends of Poker Day 3: Aaron Kweskin Leads Final 15

Aaron Mermelstein WPT Legends of Poker The Bicycle Hotel & Casino

Just 15 players remain after Day 3 of World Poker Tour (WPT) Legends of Poker at The Bicycle Hotel & Casino. Sitting atop the chip counts is Aaron Kweskin followed closely by Day 2 chip leader Michael Wang.

The day began with 75 players and 72 payout spots to battle for, so the money bubble was burst very early in the day. Only a few hands in, Mike Olson got it all in with tens against Eugene Castro’s ace-king and was eliminated in 75th place when Castro found a pairing ace.

Just a few minutes later, Tim Anders pushed all in preflop from middle position, Frank Rusnak went all in over the top, and Arkadi Onikoul piled in even more to be all in as well. Onikoul’s {a-Hearts}{k-Hearts} won the pot against Rusnak’s {j-Spades}{j-Hearts} and Anders’ {a-Diamonds}{6-Hearts} when the board ran out king high, and he eliminated two players at once, sending the tournament into the money in one swift blow.

As is usually the case when a min-cash is secured for all remaining players, eliminations started to come quickly. Some notable players who collected their payout on Day 3 include Aaron Mermelstein (51st — $9,675), James Calderaro (48th — $9,675), Allen Kessler (42nd — $10,983), JC Tran (38th — $10,983), Ray Qartomy (34th — $13,075), and JJ Liu (30th — $13,075).

Among the 15 players returning for Day 4 are two WPT Champions Club members: Freddy Deeb and Griffin Paul. For making it this far, none of the remaining players will collect less than $20,920, but the mouth-watering $675,942 is the prize for the eventual champion. The players will return on Thursday and resume play at 1 p.m. to play down to a televised final table of six players.

Remaining 15 Players in WPT Legends of Poker

1Aaron Kewskin2,800,0009Freddy Deeb1,270,000
2Michael Wang2,765,00010Brent Roberts1,220,000
3Mike Shariati2,600,00011Joseph Cheong1,185,000
4Igor Zektser2,135,00012Craig Chait1,185,000
5Duey Duong1,600,00013Spike Le895,000
6Stan Jablonski1,580,00014Griffin Paul780,000
7Bill Fagerbakke1,550,00015Chris DeMaci665,000
8Alexandru Masek1,370,000   

Details and photo courtesy of the WPT Live Updates.

Get all the latest PokerNews Canada updates on your social media outlets. Follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook!

What do you think?

More Stories

Other Stories

Recommended for you

Full Tilt Announces 20-Event Full Tilt Classic Series from September 11-20 Full Tilt Announces 20-Event Full Tilt Classic Series from September 11-20