Andrew Fawcett is the 2016 Alberta Poker Champion

2016 Alberta Poker Championship Casino Edmonton

The first live poker tournament series of the year in Canada has come to an end, crowning Andrew Fawcett as the 2016 Alberta Poker Champion.

After the holiday season each year, Casino Edmonton is usually the first in the country to jump back in action by hosting their annual tournament series. In its 13th year, the Alberta Poker Championship ran from January 17 to 24 this year, offering five events including the $1,100 Main Event.

It kicked off with a $500 bounty tournament where Michael McHale came out on top of 100 entries to win $11,250 plus bounties. Allen Butkovic settled for second place and $6,750 while Francis Fan collected third-place money of $5,250.

Event #2 was also $500 but without the bounty format. Again, 100 entrants came to the tables and Tim Hague won the best prize of $14,250. He beat JoJo Enu-Kwesi heads-up to award the latter $8,550. Mustafa Biber was the third-place finisher, pocketing $6,650 for the deep run.

The buy-in dropped to $300 for Event #3 and the game switched to pot-limit Omaha. This time, entries tallied 99 and Chris McPherson was the last standing. He earned $7,614 for the win while second-place finisher Kyle Levicki took home $4,570. Laurence Louie was the third man, enjoying a payday of $3,560.

Event #4 picked up the pace with a turbo blind structure and the buy-in was an affordable $180. Francis Fan picked up another final table after doing so in the kickoff event. Fan found the win this time, cashing in for $7,462 after rising to the top of the 153-entry field. Ricky Smith earned $4,370 for second place and Tyler Duler’s third-place result was worth $2,810.

The $1,100 Main Event offered two starting days to try to build a Day 2 stack. When Friday’s Day 1a concluded for the night, Jerry Carter bagged the most chips with 334,000 to his name. Dave Gilmour was set to return with 277,500, and nobody else tipped over the 200,000 mark.

Day 1b was a much larger field, as expected for the Saturday flight. When registration closed, 245 entries had created a prize pool of $232,750. Andrew Fawcett was the chip leader with 405,500, followed by Raymond Chen with 335,500.

Sunday’s Day 2 resumed play with 31 players remaining. When just two remained, it was a heads-up match between the Day 1a chip leader and the Day 1b chip leader. Fawcett began the day with the most chips overall, and he ended the day scooping up the top prize of $59,500, giving Carter the runner-up prize of $37,250.

2016 Alberta Poker Championship Top 10 Finishers

1Andrew Fawcett$59,500
2Jerry Carter$37,250
3Brian Lee$28,500
4Raymond Chen$21,400
5Paul Belyea$16,400
6Adam Stevens$11,900
7Ryan Ayoubi$8,100
8Noam Malavski$5,900
9Kyle Levicky$4,800
10Nicholas Rawluk$3,800

Get all the latest PokerNews Canada updates on your social media outlets. Follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook!

  • Andrew Fawcett claimed the title of 13th Alberta Poker Champion this past weekend in Edmonton.

What do you think?

More Stories

Other Stories

Recommended for you

Winter Super Stack Will Heat Up Calgary This February Winter Super Stack Will Heat Up Calgary This February