Poker Hall of Fame Announces 2016 Members: Todd Brunson and Carlos Mortensen

Poker Hall of Fame Announces 2016 Members: Todd Brunson and Carlos Mortensen 0001

The Poker Hall of Fame Governing Council announced the Class of 2016, adding two new members, Todd Brunson and Carlos Mortensen, to poker’s most exclusive club, the Poker Hall of Fame.

"It's a true honor to be inducted by my peers into this prestigious institution,” said Brunson in a release. “I literally grew up attending these ceremonies and have always respected and admired its members. To join their ranks is the honor of a lifetime."

Todd Brunson

These two players will be the 51st and 52nd inductees into the Poker Hall of Fame through public nomination and a 44-person panel vote made up of existing Poker Hall of Fame members and a Blue Ribbon Media Panel.

This year’s class is particularly unique as Brunson will join his father, Doyle Brunson, in the Hall of Fame and Mortensen will be the first truly international and European member of the Hall of Fame.

"I have been playing poker professionally for more than 20 years,” said Mortensen in a release. “This game has given me so many things that I have come to cherish. I've always wanted to be included among the great players who make up the Poker Hall of Fame. To be included with the legends makes me very happy. I want to thank my friends, the poker fans, and all the people who vote for me. I take this honor very seriously."

Carlos Mortensen

The official induction will occur Oct. 26 at the Binion’s Gambling Hall in Las Vegas, kicking off the November Nine festivities just before the World Series of Poker Main Event final table at the Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino Oct. 30 through Nov. 1.

The other finalists who will remain eligible for future induction include Chris Bjorin, Humberto Brenes, Eli Elezra, Bruno Fitoussi, Chris Moneymaker, Max Pescatori, Matt Savage and David Ulliott.

The criteria for the Poker Hall of Fame is as follows:

  • A player must have played poker against acknowledged top competition
  • Be a minimum of 40 years old at time of nomination
  • Played for high stakes
  • Played consistently well, gaining the respect of peers
  • Stood the test of time
  • Or, for non-players, contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results.

Established in 1979, the Poker Hall of Fame has 27 living members and 52 members total. It was acquired by Harrah’s Entertainment (now Caesars) with the World Series of Poker in 2004.

Get all the latest PokerNews Canada updates on social media. Follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook!

What do you think?

More Stories

Other Stories