Lance Bradley and Ari Engel Are Canadian Winners of 2017 American Poker Awards

Lance Bradley Ari Engel 2017 American Poker Awards

The best of the poker world descended on the glamorous Beverly Hills on Thursday night for the third annual American Poker Awards, hosted by the Global Poker Index and sponsored by PokerStars.

Players and industry professionals donned evening gowns and tuxedos to celebrate the people who lead the game in North America and enjoyed a dinner and awards ceremony at the luxurious Sofitel hotel.

For nationalist Canadians hoping to see some hardware come home to our side of the border, there were two wins to celebrate out of the 17 award-recipients announced in California on a live stream.

The first came in the category of Tournament Performance of the Year and was won by Canada’s 2016 Player of the Year. He also still leads the Canadian player rankings, now for 17 weeks running. That player was the Canadian-born, America-residing Ari Engel. He won the 2016 Aussie Millions Main Event for $1.6 million AUD — easily the largest tournament cash in his long and consistent career.

The other Canadian to scoop an award was in the category of Poker Media Content of the Year. This man is another Canadian residing in the USA. For the story titled Bob, Charlie and a Life-Changing WSOP Main Event Journey, Lance Bradley was the deserving winner. Bradley is the President and Editor in Chief of PocketFives where the article appeared.

A jury panel chose the award winners the morning of the ceremony from the finalists presented by a nomination panel of more than 70 leading poker-world members.

Other Canadian mentions in the nominations that didn’t receive an award include Kristen Bicknell for Tournament Performance of the Year, Griffin Benger’s clash with William Kassouf for Moment of the Year, Ari Engel again for Breakout Performer of the Year, and Kevin Martin, Jaime Staples, and Parker Talbot all for Twitch Streamer of the Year.

2017 American Poker Awards Winners

AwardWinnerOther Finalists
American GPI Player of the YearDavid Peters 
American GPI Female Player of the YearCate Hall 
Media Person of the YearJoe StapletonLance Bradley
  Sarah Herring
  David Tuchman
Industry Person of the YearSean McCormackTony Burns
  Jack Effel
  Matt Savage
Breakout Performance of the YearMaurice HawkinsAri Engel
  Ankush Mandavia
  Sam Soverel
Tournament Performance of the YearAri EngelMaurice Hawkins
  Kristen Bicknell
  Mike Sexton
Mid-Major Circuit of the YearWSOP CircuitMid-States Poker Tour
  Heartland Poker Tour
Event of the YearSuper High Roller BowlSeminole Hard Rock Poker Open
  WSOP Main Event
  WPT Five Diamond
Charitable Initiative of the YearDan Smith Charity Drive 
Lifetime Achievement AwardMori Eskandani 
Moment of the YearJason Mercier at the WSOPGriffin Benger vs. Will Kassouf
  David Peters Wins GPI POY in last major of year
  Mike Sexton mounts comeback to win WPT Montreal
Media Content of the YearBob, Charlie and a Life-Changing WSOP Main Event JourneyLife's a Gamble (Mike Sexton)
  Stu Ungar's Last Chance Gone Wrong (Matt Showell)
  Jason Somerville Aussie Millions coverage
Twitch Streamer of the YearJason SomervilleKevin Martin
  Parker Talbot
  Jaime Staples
Podcast of the YearPoker Life Podcast (Joe Ingram)Full Contact Poker (Daniel Negreanu)
  PokerNews Podcast
  TwoPlusTwo Pokercast
PocketFives Legacy AwardCliff Josephy 
Hendon Mob AwardJohn Holley 
Jury PrizeMatt Savage 

Photos courtesy of revolutionpix for GPI.

Stay connected. Follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook!

What do you think?

More Stories

Other Stories