Shaner Yo is the 2018 Spring PlayNow Poker Champion

Shaner Yo PlayNow Poker Championship

The Main Event of the 2018 Spring PlayNow Poker Championship came to a sudden conclusion last night at Club Regent Casino in Winnipeg. After just a single hand of heads-up play, Shaner Yo became the Main Event Champion and pocketed $51,088.

The marquee tournament of the four-event series began on Saturday, receiving 192 entries to create a prize pool of $192,000. After 15 45-minute levels, play paused with 35 players remaining and Dave Shiska holding the most chips.

Day 2 of the Main Event started Sunday at noon, resuming play with the 35 players returning to their seats to battle it out for one of 20 prizes. It took about three hours to burst the money bubble. The unfortunate player to bust 21st without a prize was James Boyd. Start-of-day chip leader Dave Shiska made it through to the money, but his stack couldn't carry him much farther, as he fell in 14th place for $3,021.

Once the bubble burst, it would be another two and a half hours before the final table was set. Chris Wallmuth was the payer with the most chips to start the final table, bringing nearly twice as many chips to the final table as any other player.

2018 Spring PlayNow Poker Championship Main Event final table

The first to fall from the final table was Rob Hodgins. He got his money in good with pocket queens but then saw his opponent run out for a four-card diamond flush to knock him out. He collected $4,315 for 10th place.

Daniel Stimpson was next out, winning $4,938 for ninth after his {[xQx] was called by pocket queens. Cheng Lee was eighth for $5,794 after he shoved and found his {j-}{10-} dominated.

Play went on for another two hours before Quentin Krueger fell in seventh place for $6,999. The chip leader to start the final table, Chris Wallmuth, was the next man out, finishing sixth for $8,743, and in the very same hand, Kevin Jones was also eliminated for $11,344.

Mike McCulloch ended up finishing in fourth for $15,352, setting up three-handed play between Tomas Loro, Anders Prokopowich, and Shaner Yo.

Three-handed play went for another half hour or so before Tomas Loro fell in third place for $21,766.

Shaner Yo 2018 Spring PlayNow Poker Championship Main Event
Shaner Yo

The heads-up battle between Yo and Prokopowich only lasted a single hand. Yo had {j-Diamonds}{q-Hearts} against the {a-Diamonds}{3-Spades} of Prokopowich. Yo hit his queen on the river, and sent Prokopowich to the cashout table to collect $32,455.

Shaner Yo ended up with all the chips in the end, and won $51,088. This follows two previous third-place finishes in this same event in past years. He also took the trophy and championship ring, as well as secured the points race prize, which means he gets a free package to every event of the next PlayNow Poker Championship in September.

2018 Spring PlayNow Poker Championship Main Event Final Table Results

1Shaner Yo$51,088
2Anders Prokopowich$32,455
3Tomas Loro$21,766
4Michael McCulloch$15,352
5Kevin Jones$11,344
6Chris Wallmuth$8,743
7Quentin Krueger$6,999
8Cheng Lee$5,794
9Daniel Stimpson$4,938
10Robert Hodgins$4,315
2018 Spring PlayNow Poker Championship trophy, ring, chips, and winning cards

To look back on all of our updates from the event, see the full payouts, or browse the photo album, head to our live reporting page for the event.

  • Shaner Yo is your 2018 Spring PlayNow Poker Champion! #PNPC

What do you think?

More Stories

Other Stories